Riverwalker Press Books

We are happy to introduce our books! They are available in both print and e-book versions. To order, click on the book title and you will be taken directly to Amazon.com.



The Book of Us: A Story of Relationship in Life, Death, and the Afterlife  by Chuck Ketchel LCSW, Jeanne Ketchel and J. E. Ketchel (previously Jan Hughes) is now available, 20 years after Jeanne transitioned into the Afterlife.

It is not only the memoir of a relationship in this world but the story of a relationship that blossomed and grew in another world, transcending space and time.

As Chuck and Jeanne said goodbye to each other in this world, they promised to look for each other and reconnect if at all possible. They found a way.

The three authors have developed a unique means of connection and communication that has grown and evolved over the past 20 years, and is still going strong! Their three lives have intertwined in a most unique way. Chuck and Jan work with Jeanne as a triad, bringing her messages of love and awareness to those who are seeking, and they each work separately with her in their own unique ways as well.

The Book of Us also explores what happens to us when we die. Where do we go? Is it truly possible to communicate with the dead? What is the Afterlife like? Jeanne addresses these questions, and many more, in The Book of Us.

We also highly recommend The Book of Us as an introduction to the shamanic process of recapitulation. It firmly establishes the foundations of the process, how it evolved through Chuck and Jeanne’s discovery of Tensegrity and how Chuck brought it into his clinical practice. We highly suggest reading this book first and then reading Jan’s books, The Recapitulation Diaries, for a deeper understanding of the process of recapitulation as a method not only of deep healing but as a how-to on taking the inner journey, the real journey we are all here to take.

New Book by J. E. Ketchel

All The Gifts You Are Given: Reimagining the life you are in by J. E. Ketchel comes on the heels of the publication of the final book in The Recapitulation Diaries series.

In All The Gifts You Are Given, J. E. Ketchel, in telepathic communication with spirit, shares the seven healing steps that will help you re-imagine your life.

This work would not have been possible if she had not fully recapitulated her early childhood abuse, cleared her energy, restored her innocence and learned how to be open to working with spirit guidance, for the greater good of all.

In The Recapitulation Diaries, Jan Ketchel recounts her three-year-long period of deep and intensive recapitulation. Please be aware that these are adult books. Instances of sexual abuse are described, not for sensational purposes, but only as part of the unfolding of the process. Be forewarned that these instances of sexual abuse can be very uncomfortable. We suggest putting the books down, taking notes, and returning to reading when ready. If triggered at a deeper level, we advise seeking the aid of a qualified mental health professional.

Volume 1
The Recapitulation Diaries
by Jan Ketchel

In The Man in the Woods the recapitulation journey begins. We are introduced to the signs leading up to it, how Jan met Chuck, and how her process unfolded. We live her life with her, as she invites us into her most intimate and private thoughts and experiences. We suffer with her as she makes painful decisions that she knows will change everything for herself and those she loves the most. But something is calling to her and she must heed its call.

Based on an ancient shamanic process, her recapitulation journey unfolds in the flow of everyday life. On a sunny June day, in 2001, a powerful memory sends her crashing to the floor. From that point onward there is no turning back. She is ready, the path appears, and she is ushered on her journey.

Volume 2
The Recapitulation Diaries
by Jan Ketchel

The Edge of the Abyss takes us deeper into Jan’s process as she continues to face not only what happened to her in childhood, but everything else that happened to her throughout life as a result of her traumatic past. We grasp the necessity of mental health for a full and productive life and that facing our deepest wounds is really the only way to achieve it. As the recapitulation unfolds, and Jan sheds more of her old self, we understand the healing power of the process of recapitulation. Little by little life begins to hold new possibilities.

Like many other healing practices, handed down through generations of practitioners, recapitulation is imbued with the intent of the ancients. It is a powerful process, a pathway to a changed perception of the self and the world.

Volume 3
The Recapitulation Diaries
By Jan Ketchel

Into the Vast Nothingness reveals the bigger picture of who we are as energetic beings.

Repeatedly facing the old self and the old world, Jan experiences the world literally cracking open as memories, dreams and experiences intersect. How far down can she go and still hold onto her sanity? This is the question she continually asks herself, while simultaneously knowing that continually facing her fears is the only means to truly heal.

As she realizes that she does have to go into the vast nothingness that she so fears, she also discovers much more than she ever expected.

Volume 4
The Recapitulation Diaries
J. E. Ketchel

Place of No Pity whisks the reader right along into the continuing saga of Jan and her intrepid spirit. Undaunted by the task before her, she faces into the whirlwind of the unfolding journey of recapitulation with nerves of steel.

In Place of No Pity, as she faces the truth of family secrets, Jan is also taught what it means to detach and move on into a life of one’s own, leaving family and expectations behind in a loving and compassionate way.

Through the highs and lows of her night sea journey, Jan learns the importance of staying  grounded in reality, for even though she experiences moments of transcendent bliss and insight, she also learns that life is meant to be lived on earth, the learning ground for everything.

Volume 5
The Recapitulation Diaries

Dreaming All The Time, the fifth and final book in The Recapitulation Diaries, can be as challenging as the other books in the series but in a completely different way.

As Jan’s journey continues, and as her recapitulation process comes to an end, the biggest challenge may be to the reader, for she quite unintentionally leaves us in a state of cognitive dissonance, a technique so treasured by the shamans of Ancient Mexico, where we are left with two irreconcilable opposites, two contradictory truths that leave us stunned and confused. Having overcome the ruthless petty tyrant that was her abuser, having freed her energy and her spirit, she leaves us wondering: could her personal reconciliation of her cognitive dissonance truly be authentic?

In the end, it is the reconciliation of cognitive dissonance that launches us to advancement beyond victimhood, offers the potential for advancement into a higher stage of evolution, and schools us in the detachment needed to truly become a loving being.

Chuck Ketchel, LCSWR